US Open 2022 – top seeds, prize money, past winners, when and where to watch

The 2022 edition of the US Open is scheduled to be held between August 29 and September 11. Starting each year on the last Monday in August and continuing for two weeks, the US Open is the fourth and final Grand Slam of the year.

Prize money

The total prize money for the US Open 2022 is $60.1 million, higher than the $57.5 million in 2021.

The prize money for title winners has increased slightly. The men’s singles and women’s singles champions will each receive $2.6 million, up from $2.5 million last year.

Top 10 seeds in men’s singles Ranking Top 10 seeds in women’s singles Ranking
Daniil Medvedev (Russia) 1 Iga Swiatek (Poland) 1
Rafael Nadal (Spain) 3 Anett Kontaveit (Estonia) 2
Carlos Alcaraz (Spain) 4 Maria Sakkari (Greece) 3
Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece) 5 Paula Badosa (Spain) 4
Casper Ruud (Norway) seven Ons Jabeur (Tunisia) 5
Felix Auger-Aliassime (Canada) 8 Aryna Sabalenka (Belarus) 6
Cameron Norrie (Great Britain) 9 Simona Halep (Romania) seven
Hubert Hurkacz (Poland) ten Jessica Pegula (USA) 8
Andrei Rublev (Russia) 11 Garbine Muguruza (Spain) 9
Taylor Fritz (USA) 12 Daria Kasatkina (Russia) ten

Where to look?

In India, viewers will be able to watch the US Open live stream on Sony Sports Network and stream it live on Sony Liv.


The governing body of the US Open is the United States Tennis Association (USTA), which was founded as the US National Lawn Tennis Association in 1881. That same year, the first men’s singles championship was held at Newport Casino in Newport, Rhode Island. where only those who were members of the club could participate. Richard Sears won the first ever US Open title. Six years later, the first women’s singles championship was held at the Philadelphia Cricket Club in Pennsylvania, won by Ellen Hansell.

The championship was held at various locations such as Mountain Station, New Jersey; Boston, Massachusetts; and Forest Hills, New York before finally settling at the USTA National Tennis Center in Flushing Meadows in Queens, New York in 1978. The name of the tennis center was changed to USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in 2006 to honor the women’s quadruple US Open. singles champion and one of the pioneers of the game.

Having been played in multiple venues since its inception, the US Open has been contested on grass (1881-1974), clay (1975-1977) and hard court (1978-present). Interestingly, Jimmy Connors holds the distinction of being the only man to win the US Open on all three surfaces while Chris Evert is the only woman to win the Major on two surfaces.

The main court for the US Open is Arthur Ashe Stadium which was completed in 1997. With a capacity of 23,200, it is the largest tennis stadium in the world.

Oldest and youngest winners

Youngest men’s singles champion – Pete Sampras (1990) at age 19 years and 28 days

Youngest female singles champion – Tracy Austin (1979) at age 16 years, 8 months and 28 days

Oldest Men’s Singles Champion – Ken Rosewall (1970) at age 35 years, 10 months and 11 days

Oldest Women’s Singles Champion – Flavia Pennetta (2015) at age 33 years, 6 months and 18 days

Famous firsts for the US Open

  • ⦿
    First Grand Slam to award equal prize money to men’s and women’s singles champions
  • ⦿
    First Grand Slam to apply the Shot Clock concept to control the time players take between points
  • ⦿
    Althea Gibson became the first African American to compete at the US Open in 1950.

Most successful players at the US Open (Open Era)

Singles men

Roger Federer: 5 titles (2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008)

Pete Sampras: 5 titles (1990, 1993, 1995, 1996, 2002)

Jimmy Connors: 5 titles (1974, 1976, 1978, 1982, 1983)

Ladies singles

Chris Evert: 6 titles (1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1980, 1982)

Serena Williams: 6 titles (1999, 2002, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014)

Steffi Graf: 5 titles (1988, 1989, 1993, 1995, 1996)