IPL Purple Cap 2022: the prize for the winner of the Purple Cap in IPL

IPL Purple Cap 2022: Setters and spinners had their say when it came to the overall wicket column in IPL 202 2.

The current 15th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has witnessed an impressive spectacle, especially from the fledgling franchises of Gujarat Titans (GT) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG). On the other hand, the combined nine-time IPL champions of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) are set to be knocked out after a lackluster performance so far.

With the season already in its 30th game and the same now being played on used surfaces, the bowlers have proven to be invaluable to their respective franchises.

Also, with the red-earth pitches likely to deteriorate even further as more matches (across the three Mumbai venues) are played there, expect the spinners (in particular) to exert their dominance further. in the rest of the league.

So far, however, pacers and setters have made full use of the conditions on offer and have had a more or less equal impact in the wicket-takers chart.

Purple IPL Cap 2022

Making optimum use of the pace and bouncing off the new wickets at the start, Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) point guard Umesh Yadav wore the purple cap – for the highest wicket taker, for some time during the early games of the season .

However, with the red and black ground pitches staying true to their nature, spinners notably climbed the list, with five spinners in the top 5 after the 29th match between Chennai Super Kings and Gujarat Titans ended.

The Rajasthan Royals’ most prized possession of the season so far, Yuzvendra Chahal, with 12 wickets in 5 innings, now wears the purple cap.

He is tied with SRH left-arm fast bowler T. Natarajan, who has an equal number of wickets, albeit from 6 innings.

Kuldeep Yadav (DC), Avesh Khan (LSG) and Wanindu Hasaranga (RCB) follow next in the list with 11 wickets each.

Player matches Counters Medium Economy rate
Yuzvendra Chahal 6 12 11:33 am 6.8
T Natarajan 6 12 5:33 p.m. 8.66
Kuldeep Yadav 5 11 14.72 8.23
Avesh Khan 6 11 17.09 8.29
Wanindu Hasaranga 6 11 17.72 8.47

Purple Cap Winner Award in IPL

According to reports, in line with the previous season, the winner and runners-up of IPL 2022 would receive a hefty sum of INR 20 crore and INR 13 crore each. Franchises finishing in 3rd and 4th place would receive INR 7 Crore and INR 6.5 Crore respectively

Similarly, the winners of Cape Orange (for highest run-getter) and Cape Violet (for highest wicket-taker) would each earn INR 15 Lakh after the end of the season.